1 2 3 Previous Next 134 Replies Latest reply on Mar 28, 2014 1:15 PM by nathanmedina

Latest SCP Test Takers

crwchief6

So has anyone taken the exam since it went public and what was your take on the exam? Any advice for those of us who haven't taken the test? Were the videos and webcasts helpful or is good ole hands on training with the Solarwinds products more helpful and some networking knowledge. I didn't see a post on what people thought about the test so thought I would try and get some ideas on how you felt about it.

• 1. Re: Latest SCP Test Takers

Hi crwchief6,

As with any exam your real-world experience is going to greatly influence your test experience.  I've been working in technology for more almost two decades and done cerifications ranging from CCNA to CISSP in  my time.

I did the exam and found it appropriately challenging.

For exam preparation I used Josh's videos and the exam prep guide. In terms of order of importance I would rank them like this:

1.  Hand's on device and Orion administration.

2.  Exam Prep guide with example questions.

3.  Josh's video series.

I would not attempt the exam without a checkbox next to all three of those items, even if it's just an Orion eval server in a very small test network.

One of the things I liked about the test itself is all of the questions are very straight-forward and concisely written.  I used to hate those half-page scenario questions on those MSFT exams.  The example questions in the prep guide are a really good indicator of how the questions on the exam are written.

Hope that helps!

Saludos!

1 of 1 people found this helpful
          • 2. Re: Latest SCP Test Takers
            crwchief6

Thanks BillFitz,