11 Replies Latest reply on Jan 12, 2009 2:12 PM by r0berth1

Network Map

r0berth1

Is there a way to speed up the loading of the network map? I have it on my home page now, and it takes 10 to 15 seconds to load the home page. if i remove the network map, it loads in less than 2 seconds. I have no backgrounds on the map and am using the smallest (is file size) icons available. I only have 5 icons on the main map page but they link to other maps which have all the nodes broken down by state. Orion and poller are on 1 server and the SQL database is on the other. Both VMs are connected via a 1 gigabit connection to the network fed with a 10 gigabit fiber backbone.

VM1 = Server 2003 R2 SP2, Intel Xeon 2.33GHz, 1gig RAM = Orion and Poller

VM2 = Server 2003 R2 SP2, Intel Xeon 2.33GHz, 2gig RAM = SQL Database

Both VMs are on a Priority One Cluster

Database details are below:

Operating SystemWindows 2003 Standard Edition
      OS Version5.2.3790
      Service Pack

CatalogNetPerfMon
      Database EngineMicrosoft SQL Server
      SQL VersionMicrosoft SQL Server 2005 - 9.00.3042.00 (Intel X86)
      Feb 9 2007 22:47:07
      Copyright (c) 1988-2005 Microsoft Corporation
      Standard Edition on Windows NT 5.2 (Build 3790: Service Pack 2)
      Security ModelUser Name \ Password 
      User NameSolarWindsNPM 
      Connection Timeout20 seconds

Network Elements927 Elements
      Nodes344 Nodes
      Interfaces583 Interfaces
      Volumes0 Volumes

Alerts0 Alerts
      Events2183 Events
      Pollers1845 Pollers
      Polling Engines1 Polling Engines

• Re: Network Map
          tdanner

I don't know of any quick fix to speed up the map loading, but there is a way to keep it from slowing down the home page loading.

If you edit \Inetpub\SolarWinds\NetPerfMon\Resources\7-1-NetworkMaps\22-NetworkMap.Resource and add this line:

<!-- LoadAsynchronously=true -->