This discussion has been locked. The information referenced herein may be inaccurate due to age, software updates, or external references.
You can no longer post new replies to this discussion. If you have a similar question you can start a new discussion in this forum.

Orion - SQL 2005 Server w/ SAN storage

Has anyone had any issues with running a separate SQL Server 2005 Enterprise but with SAN storage?

I'm just getting started with Orionv9sp2 - and now that the majority of my network has been discovered, I seem to be running into major performance issues.  My polling engine will not stay running.  Also, when I launch the Manager app from the server it takes forever (if it works) to open the Orion Database.  If it does open, then it usually locks up during the creating baseline phase.  My DB is almost 5 Gig.

My average disk queue length gets pretty high - sometimes 45-60 which according to support is way too high.  He also said using SAN storage wasn't recommended because of issues w/ speed. 

Anyone have any thoughts and/or similar experience?  I've tried to go through the config wizard multiple times - this gets the polling engine to start for a short time, but then it shuts down shortly after.

• Have you examined the polling and sattistics collection completion percentages? In System Manager, go to the FIle menu and select Polling Status. Look at the ICMP and SNMP polling indices. You will likely find the values very low. Also, go to the Polling Engine Tuning app and see what the recommended polls per second are versus what you are actually running.

How many elements are you monitoring? If the indications is tha tyou need to drastically increase the polls per second settings in order to monitor your network, but your CPU load and memory usage stats on the Orion polling engine are already high, you would need to add an additional pollin server and load balance between the two servers in order to ge the job done.

• Thanks for the response.