17 Replies Latest reply on Nov 22, 2013 5:08 PM by drewkj

TFTP file transfer error

I'm extremely new to TFTP...  I have downloaded and installed Solarwinds Free TFTP server v9.2.0.110

It is configured to send and receive files... from any IP address... on any NIC.
      I'm trying to upload the configuration of our Cisco Wireless LAN Controller.
      I'm using the default C:\TFTP-Root folder...
      I have a folder called C:\TFTP-Root\WLC\config

In the WLC, I have specified the IP address of the server running TFTP server... the file path specified is: /WLC/config/    the filename specified is: config.tar   (not sure if this is correct)
      After trying to upload, the WLC says "File transfer failed!"

The SolarWinds TFTP Server screen says..

TFTP connected from 10.10.10.5:7800 on 6/24/2008 1:58:02 PM, netascii, PUT. Interrupted by client, cause: Path cannot be null (some kind of crazy character) Parameter name: path
      TFTP connected from 10.10.10.5:7800 on 6/24/2008 1:58:02 PM, netascii, PUT. Transmission failed. Illegal characters in path.

I'm also attaching a screen shot of the error. 

Any ideas what I'm doing wrong?

TIA,
      Die-Tech

• Re: TFTP file transfer error

Die-Tech - Try removing the preceeding /, and if that does not get it, try reversing the / to \. 

If that does not get it, the web app might be adding a special char to the TFTP command, can you send me a sniff of the a interaction?

Do you have access to the CLI for this device (Telnet/SSH), it might be easier to use it for downloading configs... On Cisco IOS the command is usually

copy run tftp://<Address>/path/filename.

HTH,

Greg