This discussion has been locked. The information referenced herein may be inaccurate due to age, software updates, or external references.
You can no longer post new replies to this discussion. If you have a similar question you can start a new discussion in this forum.

WMI Polling and Account access

I just downloaded the new App Monitor Module. The main reason is for WMI polling. I am new to WMI, I understand there needs to be a certain level of access to the Windows server for Orion to poll WMI. What level of access is needed. Our Windows team is very protective of their servers and who they give access to and how much access is given. I am not a member of the that team so I can forsee a challenge.

•  By default, remote WMI access requires admin privileges on the target machine.  You can change the permissions to allow non-admin users the ability to query WMI

From msdn2.microsoft.com/.../aa393266(VS.85).aspx:

“Allowing Users Access to a Specific WMI Namespace

You can allow or disallow users access to a specific WMI namespace by setting the "Remote Enable" permission in the WMI Control for a namespace. If a user tries to connect to a namespace they are not allowed access to, they will receive error 0x80041003. By default, this permission is enabled only for administrators. An administrator can enable remote access to specific WMI namespaces for a nonadministrator user.”

• Understood...but what "user" are people using in their WMI credentials? Security doesn't like us to create users with Admin privileges that are not 'humans'. There is also the issues of password expirations every X number of days for nonadminstrator users that will have to be dealt with.

I also am interested in how you guys are physically configuring the remote computer for WMI access? In other words, are you logging into each server seperately and configuring WMI persmissions on a namespace for access my a remote user (the remote user being Orion APM?).