This discussion has been locked. The information referenced herein may be inaccurate due to age, software updates, or external references.
You can no longer post new replies to this discussion. If you have a similar question you can start a new discussion in this forum.

Switch Port Mapper not showing ip address and DNS name

After upgrading my Engineering toolset from ver 8 to ver 9, the Switch Port Mapper tool appears not to  be working correctly.  I can get the Mac addresses on all the ports fine but the IP address fields and the DNS name fields are blank.  I have gone through the settings and made sure that they were all selected correctly but still nothing shows.  This was all working on ver 8 but after the upgrade something seems to be missing.  Any direction on this would be appreciated.

• I am new to the SolarWinds products. In my situation I started off with SolarWinds Engineering Toolset 9.0.1.  I'm mapping mainly to two Cisco 6509's running SUP 720-3b. I cannot get the Switch Port Mapper to show IP Address and DNS/NB Name information. Oddly, the IP Address and DNX/NB Name information WILL show up in the IP Address Management tool.

I've also got several 4506's and some 3750's that I'm experiencing the same problem with. No IP Address or DNS/NB name information is populating.

Is there anyone out there who could help me find a fix for this problem? 

• We are a solid Cisco shop running 6509, 2950, 2970, 4500's et al and my only guess on this is that the new Solarwinds ver 9.0.1 didn't get all the Cisco MIB's right.  It would appear that Solarwinds isn't handling the MIBs correctly or is possibly miscompiling them.  We also had problems with the IP Address Management tool showing IP address available when in fact they were being used.  That issue was patched and now appears to be working but the Switch Port Mapper issue has not been resolved. This really is too bad because the Switch Port Mapping has been a nice diagnostic tool.

• FormerMember