This discussion has been locked. The information referenced herein may be inaccurate due to age, software updates, or external references.
You can no longer post new replies to this discussion. If you have a similar question you can start a new discussion in this forum.

Solarwinds Patch Manager Installing & Configuring

Hello everyone,

I'm new with SPM and I am a bit lost on setting thing.

So, my goal is to have SPM configured so I can do OS Patching on my domain.

I already have WSUS configured, and I am able to sync the updates and no further configs done in WSUS.

I also have installed SPM  and now I would like to populate with servers so I can start patching them.

And now I am a bit lost on what I need to do regarding configurations I have to do.

Can anyone suggest me a tutorial with a step-by-step?

Thanks,

Rui

• Hi Rui,

I'd recommend following the steps outlined under 'Configure your Patch Manager environment' here. Assuming you have machines reporting into your WSUS, the workflow will involve adding the WSUS Server to the Patch Manager console, setting up a credential ring, generating a publishing certificate, applying that cert your machines and finally configure group policy to enable third party updates/allow signed content. The link above provides all the steps necessary for each stage.

Once that it set up you can then begin to publish third party updates to WSUS, run patching tasks, etc. Any issues or questions, just let me know!

• Hi Jhynds,

Thanks for the tip.

I have a doubt when we deploy and update, if we have a maintenance windows from 11pm to 9am, if the task is still running by 8:59am will it stop at 9am and restart again by 11pm?

Thanks,

• I am working on setting up Patch Manager and was wondering - do I need WSUS setup and configured or can I do this all at once via Patch Manager?  I am setting up WSUS and Patch Manager from scratch in a lab environment for testing. Thanks!

• Hi Dave,