This discussion has been locked. The information referenced herein may be inaccurate due to age, software updates, or external references.
You can no longer post new replies to this discussion. If you have a similar question you can start a new discussion in this forum.

Hardware requirement planning for SAM

Hi Team,

I am new to Solarwinds products and we have requirement to implement SAM for our customer...While checking hardware requirement to build SAM server which can monitor 1000 nodes, i didn't find any details.Please let me know where i will get hardware requirement for SAM server capable of managing 1000 nodes.

One more thing, as per planning we will go for SNMP based discovery but on few occassions i.e. monitoring web server,vcenter i believe SNMP will not serve the purpose.Hence please let me know what all pre-requisites in terms of service accounts,access are required to setup app level monitoring.

Thanks

Suman

• Hi Suman,

Everything you need is on this page: SAM 6.9.1 System Requirements

When you want to monitor Windows OS Servers you might need to use WMI or agents instead of relying on SNMP.

For monitoring your vCenter you'll need to have a valid user + pw (credentials) to get information from it via VMware's API, see Monitor your virtual infrastructure in SAM

Best regards,

Steffen

• Hi Steffen,

Thanks for your response.

I have gone through the system requirement link but found that hardware details are only provided for environment having max. 300 devices(i.e. SAM300).If we have to plan hardware for 1000 devices, please let me know how to calculate that.We also need to know if we have to add additional polling engine for this.

Thanks

Suman

• Good morning.

Check your Orion (main polling engine) status to see the polling rate utilisation:  Settings ->  All Settings -> Details -> Polling Engines

Alternatively: All Settings -> My Orion Deployment