This discussion has been locked. The information referenced herein may be inaccurate due to age, software updates, or external references.
You can no longer post new replies to this discussion. If you have a similar question you can start a new discussion in this forum.

SQL UDT Report - Know Which Devices Are Connected to a Switch

I work as a Network Admin at a manufacturing facility, where it is difficult to schedule the time to upgrade the IOS on Cisco switches serving the manufacturing floors. In order to upgrade the IOS, that means a network outage, and that means stopping production on tools served by the switches being upgraded. I spoke with manufacturing managers, and we came up with this agreement: All I have to do is tell them exactly which tools are connected to which switches, so they can temporarily take the attached tools off line while allowing other tools to continue work. Sounds like a reasonable compromise. But then the question become, "Which devices are connected to which switch ports?" We ran a simple free utility, but it failed to obtain ARP information for subnets protected by the Fab Firewalls. So, we needed something that some see through firewalls, to resolve MAC to IP, and then connect to DNS to resolve IP to hostnames.

Sounds like a job for UDT! [invoke image superhero with UDT suit here]