7 Replies Latest reply on Aug 19, 2019 3:21 PM by tomiannelli

Trigger Action Logic Help

severen.salvesen

Hey All,

I am somewhat new to Solarwinds and need a little help setting up one particular alert.

I have created two component monitors. One that measures the amount of Windows TCP segments re-transmitted and the other is the total TCP segments sent per second.

What I would like to do is set up an alert that says if the value of re-transmitted segments divided by the value of total segments sent exceeds .06 then an alert email needs to be sent.

Is there a way to do this with alert trigger logic?

• Re: Trigger Action Logic Help
          tomiannelli

severen.salvesen depending upon how you created those two components the answer will vary. What did you use to create them?

jrouviere

Most likely you're going to be doing a custom SQL/SWQL alert.

tomiannelli has a pertinent question, could suggest some basic query if we know how you've set up the monitoring.

severen.salvesen

Thanks! I have been trying to do a swql query myself and this is as far as I have gotten:

SELECT ComponentStatisticData, ComponentName, NodeName

FROM Orion.APM.CurrentStatistics

INNER JOIN Orion.Nodes

ON CurrentStatistics.NodeID = Nodes.NodeID

WHERE ComponentName = 'Segments Retransmitted/sec'

and

SELECT ComponentStatisticData, ComponentName, NodeName

FROM Orion.APM.CurrentStatistics

INNER JOIN Orion.Nodes

ON CurrentStatistics.NodeID = Nodes.NodeID

WHERE ComponentName = 'Segments Sent/sec'

These two tables display the data that I need, I just don't know how to perform a function to divide the 'Segments Retransmitted' by the 'Segments Sent' and put the results in a new column. Is that at all possible since the data itself is all part of the "ComponentStatisticData" Table?

jrouviere

OK, so this wound up being a little bit more complicated via SQL than I originally thought and working into an alert is going to have its own challenges, but this is what I have so far: