3 Replies Latest reply on Jun 14, 2019 10:36 AM by mandevil

DPA show fragmented indexes

scott.wheeler

Hi,

I'm fairly new to using DPA, and I'm not finding what I need. For a very specific scenario, we've got a DPA instance running for our developers. I know in Orion, you can drill down in to individual databases and see some information on index fragmentation %.

Am I completely overlooking where in DPA I can find a similar view? The developers don't and won't have access to Orion, only DPA. I've browsed around and through all the menus I could find and don't see it as a view.

Currently using DPA 11.1.457. Thanks for the assistance!

• Re: DPA show fragmented indexes
          mandevil

Here is a custom alert you can set up for fragmentation: Custom Alert - Fragmentation

From a performance point of view, DPA doesn't focus much on fragmentation because it's not that big of a performance hit in modern data centers. In fact, it could even improve performance in some cases. My intent is not to start a debate, but there are a LOT of great articles out there concerning external fragmentation vs internal...

HTH

scott.wheeler

Thank you, I'll take a look at this as an option. So from what I'm seeing, this would be an alert that would trigger and let people know if any monitored indexes breached a specific fragmentation %? Would there be any way to have this display as a widget for instance to show the top 10 fragmented indexes?

mandevil