This discussion has been locked. The information referenced herein may be inaccurate due to age, software updates, or external references.
You can no longer post new replies to this discussion. If you have a similar question you can start a new discussion in this forum.

Email alerts for "Alert me when a component goes into warning or critical state" not informative

Good morning

I'm a new sysadmin at a company with a nearly out of the box Solarwinds install. One of my initial tasks is to clean it up.

I've noticed that we are getting email alerts for when a component goes into a warning or critical state, but there is no information in the email to tell you what the issue is. You have to click the link in the email to find out more information, which obviously does not work if you are just on your phone reviewing email alerts.

I would like to edit the text so it tells me what the problem is.

How would I do that please?

I have found the alarm in Manage Alerts and then found on "trigger actions" what is shown in the email, so I need to edit this code to include the description. The ComponentAlert.UserDescription is blank as per my email, so how do I know what to put in here to show that it was a CPU load issue?

Component ${N=SwisEntity;M=ComponentAlert.ComponentName} of Application "${N=SwisEntity;M=Application.ApplicationAlert.ApplicationName}" on ${N=SwisEntity;M=Application.Node.Caption} is

currently in a "${N=SwisEntity;M=ComponentAlert.ComponentAvailability}" state. 

Click the link below for more information related to this component:

${N=SwisEntity;M=DetailsUrl}

Additional Information:

${N=SwisEntity;M=ComponentAlert.UserDescription}

An example email that I am receiving:

pastedImage_6.png

When I click the link it then takes me to the Application Component Details page, and in this instance I can see it was CPU load related.

pastedImage_1.png