This discussion has been locked. The information referenced herein may be inaccurate due to age, software updates, or external references.
You can no longer post new replies to this discussion. If you have a similar question you can start a new discussion in this forum.

A licensing Question - Server Monitoring Basics NMP or SAM?

Hi All,

I'm new to Solarwinds on the Server side, and I am now starting my adventure into SAM!

But in the past i have used NPM and when this is pointed at a windows server i can get basic monitoring of that server ie CPU, RAM, HDD etc etc etc from Memory this was from WMI, but I seem to recall this also worked with the agent.

I don't seem to get this basic info from the SAM package when pointed at the server, but SAM seems to be a lot more detailed in the info it can pull out.

So, is there a way of getting the SAM module to get things like monitor my hard drive size and give me alert when its 75% full as example, or is this something inside the NPM module?

And if it is the NPM module does anyone know how this is licensed? I have a pretty large estate and have a large SAM license, on the other hand, the network team have a fairly small estate and a small NPM License, so I wont be popular if I pinch there licenses!!!

Any help and suggestions taken!

Thanks again all!

Pete

• Thru NPM, u can monitor your servers which will provide the basic parameters like CPU, memory disk, any connected ports etc... and the licensing of this will be same like NPM..

Ex: if u have a server with 4 drives on it then it will consume for 4 drives+ 2 for memory(physical and Virtual).

But if u want to get detailed insight then SAM is better option as that would also give you hardware monitoring, application monitoring using templates etc...