5 Replies Latest reply on Aug 8, 2018 11:39 AM by trek333

Solarwinds NCM Bulk Password Change Best Practices

trek333

We are investigating Solarwinds NCM to perform bulk password changes for our network devices.

Can anyone direct me to a blog post, discussion, support article, etc. with best practices for this use case? Also, please let me know your detailed thoughts about using Solarwinds NCM Config Change Templates, Compliance (Report, Policy, & Rule) and/or Jobs for this use case. The Compliance (Report, Policy, & Rule - with remediation script) seems like the incorrect feature since rules are based on the presence of a string in the configuration which the trigger for a remediation script. However, a Config Change Template is triggered to execute by an user.

It may be helpful to share that I am somewhat new to using Solarwinds NCM. As a proof of concept, a couple of scripts using Config Change Templates have been created that seem to work fine on a couple of network device types. The desired result is to create a process for our operations team to be able to change the password for compliance reasons.

• Re: Solarwinds NCM Bulk Password Change Best Practices
          sja

Hi

Take a look on that

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=NOSPupDFsbg

That explain compliance...

YouTube is a friend..

mesverrum

If you are new to NCM the far easiest way to do this would be to just do a job with a script, since the CLI for changing passwords should be identical for the majority of your devices, and you wouldn't need to do any case by case logic so the CCT is just making a simple task into something more complicated.

To give you my typical use cases