This discussion has been locked. The information referenced herein may be inaccurate due to age, software updates, or external references.
You can no longer post new replies to this discussion. If you have a similar question you can start a new discussion in this forum.

In-Place SQL Server Upgrade (2016)

Hello.

(I've inherited responsibility but) I have little experience with Solarwinds.

Solarwinds' "Product Upgrade Advisor" has advised upgrade from SQL Server 2008 R2 Express Edition to SQL Server 2016 (and subsequently, NCM 7.4.1 to 7.5 to 7.8, and UDT 3.2.3 to 3.3.1). (I'm relying on NCM update to update Orion Platform 2015.1.3 to 2018.2, Primary Poller only)

For the first part, we have MS SQL Server expert to help with in-place upgrade, but I still need some understanding of the impact on Orion.

Looking at thread "In-Place SQL Server Upgrade" (for 2005 EE to 2008 EE) and Upgrade Orion SQL server version without migration, I surmise the following steps:

1) backup MS SQL Server Database

2) Stop all Solarwinds service [using Orion Service Manager].

3) upgrade MS SQL Server

4) Start all Solarwinds service [using Orion Service Manager].

5) if views aren't showing, rerun SolarWinds Config Wizard to re-establish the DB connection

Questions:

1) are above 5 steps sufficient?

2) will currently installed versions of Orion Platform, NCM and UDT continue to work on SQL Server 2016, before I attempt their upgrade?

R's, Alex

• The steps above are sufficient and yes as you upgrade NCM the Orion platform will upgrade. Have you already downloaded the latest version of NCM? if so the Orion installer should be able to upgrade both applications at the same time.

• Hi Neomatrix,

are you able to answer (2) question:

> 2) will currently installed versions of Orion Platform, NCM and UDT continue to work on SQL Server 2016, before I attempt their upgrade?

As per NCM 7.4 system requirements:

The following database servers are supported: