This discussion has been locked. The information referenced herein may be inaccurate due to age, software updates, or external references.
You can no longer post new replies to this discussion. If you have a similar question you can start a new discussion in this forum.

Dev to Live Migration question.

Apologies if this is a dumb newbie question.... but I'm just getting started with this particular product set.

We have a development environment where we are trialling various aspects of the SolarWinds tooling (NPM, NCM, NTA, SAM HA etc).

This gives us a good feel for the product set, and as part of this we are looking to understand how to  move some of the configuration into Live operation.

We have stringent operational Quality Control and Change Management procedures in place, so we need to be able to replicate any customisations in our live environment - without copying an entire database or having to re-type the configurations. Essentially we need to be able to  export then import various configurations - but not the actual individual device/application settings. As in most commercial organisations our systems (dev & live) are air-gapped, so we want to maximise the control of what appears in Live.

For example the types of things that we would need to be ported through to live would be:

• definitions for Windows User Groups and permissions within SolarWinds
  • Menu customisations
  • application templates
  • Polling configurations
  • etc.

Is there a way to do this, ideally as simple as possible

All suggestions gratefully received - Thanks in advance

• SolarWinds does not allow for DEV/TEST "free" licensing so you have 30 days to play in the sandbox, then rebuild it. There is a product request for this feature/option i.e DEV environment licenses.