This discussion has been locked. The information referenced herein may be inaccurate due to age, software updates, or external references.
You can no longer post new replies to this discussion. If you have a similar question you can start a new discussion in this forum.

I have a Web Performance Monitor recording that fails when I record it with an AD user account

Hi.

I am new to this - and pulling out the last remnants of my hair (Bad Thing).  I have access to:

1. An Orion server running WinServer 2012;

2. A Playback workstation running Enterprise Windows 7 Pro OS.

3. Another playback machine in the shadows waiting to be enabled as a transaction location - in a different user location;

4. I am recording WPM transactions on my workstation (also a Win7 Pro device);

5. I am using export > import to get my recordings onto the Orion server to configure transaction monitors and select locations.

6. All four devices are members of the same AD domain.  We are using a child domain - like "childdomain.corp.ds" - the servers and user accounts are all in the "childdomain" child domain.

My challenge:

I have successfully recorded and created transaction monitors for a small number of different applications/services - all are either using no access account (e.g. monitoring our public website) or are using an application-managed account.  I am now moving to a series of monitors that require AD authentication.  I am able to log in to the application using AD credentials using WPM Recorder on my desktop.  I can successfully play back the recording within WPM Recorder on my desktop.  However, when I import the recording into Orion and set up a Transaction Monitor, it fails on step one (authenticate to the application using AD).

I have:

1. Edited the recording to play back as "childdomain\username - playback fails;

2. Edited the recording to play back as "username@childdomain.corp.ds - playback fails;