2 Replies Latest reply on May 10, 2018 8:06 PM by mesverrum

Can SAM monitor actual software programs to make sure they are running?

rbeachy

I am brand new to SAM and am trying to figure out if there is a way to monitor some critical server programs that always need to be running. I've gotten a few services set up to monitor, but these are actual programs. Any advice would be appreciated.

• Re: Can SAM monitor actual software programs to make sure they are running?
          00shep

SAM is very powerful. To your point, not all applications are as basic as knowing that Windows NT services are running. You can monitor processes, app pools, sites, perf counters, tcp ports, event logs, and so on. I'd strongly recommend getting familiar with building application templates. They are reusable logical groupings of components. I tend to name mine after the application I'm monitoring (e.g. "Application A Services and Ports"). One of my favorite things about SolarWinds vs. some other solutions is the ability to easily integrate PowerShell scripts. So yes, there are tons of options available to you for all types of software monitoring.

There are some good training resources out there too.

Free SolarWinds Training Videos - SAM - SolarWinds Worldwide, LLC. Help and Support

• Re: Can SAM monitor actual software programs to make sure they are running?
            mesverrum