4 Replies Latest reply on Jan 10, 2018 10:37 AM by yaquaholic

Build a report using sql

trimulya

I'm new to running sql queries and I need to run a report that i believe it only can be done by sql query. this report will be use as View / dashboard.

Can someone help me build a query that will return the following:

- Node IP Address

- Node Name

- Node Group

- Node Status (down only)

- Time Node Down

I really appreciate any help you can provide.

thank you

• Re: Build a report using sql
          yaquaholic

You need to look at the Nodes (view) firstly, here you will find the device IP addresses, names, statuses and any custom properties (Groups).

You then need to find the active alerts and match them up, I found that the AlertMessages from the AlertStatusView worked quite nicely (you may need to ensure that the text matches your AlertMessage text correctly).

SQL

SELECT n.IP_Address, n.Caption,

CASE n.Status

WHEN 1 Then 'Up'

WHEN 2 THEN 'Down'

WHEN 9 THEN 'Unmanaged'

WHEN 11 THEN 'External'

END AS Status,

a.TriggerTimeStamp AS Since

FROM Nodes n

INNER JOIN AlertStatusView a

ON n.NodeID = a.ActiveObject

WHERE n.Status = 2

AND a.AlertMessage LIKE 'The Device % is down%'

Output:

IP_Address     Caption           Status    Since

x.y.z.101           ABC01XYZ01  Down      2017-12-11 11:00:32.733

You might want to add a few other items in there, such as URL links (for hyperlinks in the report), or status or vendor icons.

Have a good look at the Nodes table, it uses NodeID for cross linking tables and is usually the best place to start when exploring the database.

This might not work straight away for you, but hopefully it will give you a head start, and let you work it out for yourself.

Regards,

Rich

yaquaholic

Without out knowing your custom properties, I can only guess at what your Groups are...

trimulya

yes, we have custom properties such as Region A, Region B to Region I

anyway, what is the different of Nodes.Caption and n.Caption?