4 Replies Latest reply on Jan 2, 2018 3:32 PM by Mark Roberts

Solarwinds VM Requirements for installation

subash14

hi,

I am new to solarwinds but earlier i have implemented EMC smarts but i have not designed but in my new opp i need to design the environment.

Expectation would be managing 27000+ nodes (routers, Switches, Firewalls, Access Controllers). Currently we have provided the BOM details below:

Solarwinds NPM SLX - Quantity 2

Solarwinds APE for Solarwinds unlimited Licence - Quantity 15

Solarwinds NCM DLX -  Quantity 1

Solarwinds NTA Module for solarwinds NPM SLX - Quantity 1

Solarwinds Network Topology Mapper -1

Solarwinds Additinal Web Server - 1

Our Plan would be configuring in this way, NPM with NTA for the device we required for Network Traffic Monitoring and another one NPM and NCM

My question are as follows

1. How many VM Servers are needed to install all this module? If so what are the modules can be added in same Server?

2. If we are going for different VMs, how it will interconnected with the Network connecting with all the modules?

3. Need to know how SQL Database is configured and do we need to do clustering?

4. Do we need Separate VM for each APE?

5. Where do we need to configure NTM and Additional web server?

Requesting your help to proceed further.

• Re: Solarwinds VM Requirements for installation
          Vinay BY

Hi Subash,

Why would you want to post this on thwack, rather you could send a mail to SolarWinds support and they would help you with all the details that you are looking for, but then I can help you with few pointers which would help you though.