1 Reply Latest reply on Dec 22, 2017 3:46 AM by benjamin.reuze@accor.com

PatchManager: Unable to import an existing signing certificate on WSUS

Hi everyone,

I'm new in the Solarwinds community, and I already need assistance...

I have to securise my Patch Manager server, and because of PCIDSS requirements I can't use Self-Signed certificate.

No problem for the WSUS Administration part, using IIS and a certificat "Server Authentication, Client Authentication" delivered by my CA (enterprise CA).

Now my local WSUS can reply on the port 8531 correctly.

But, now I want to modify the default self-signed "Server Publishing" certificate to use a certificate generate by my own CA.

In the Patch Manager console, in "Administration and Reporting" and "Software Publishing", I click on "Server Publishing Setup Wizard" in the right menu.

Then I select my local WSUS server in the menu, and it propose me the 4 options available.

Selecting the "Use an existing Signing certificate (enabled only if WSUS server is using SSL)" I add my PFX certificate file and the password but after validating I have the following message:

"The selection certificate is not a certificate used for signing. Please select another certificate"

My certificate is a "Code Signing" SHA256 certificate issued to my server computer account.

even using the following tuto, it's not working:

Where can I find a detail of the certificate Template needed by PatchManager to integrate it correctly?

Thanks !!

• Re: PatchManager: Unable to import an existing signing certificate on WSUS

After multiple research and test. I have find the solution below:

SSL Configuration
          WSUS Administration web site SSL configuration
          1- Bind a SSL certificat on the WSUS Administration web site of the local WSUS server
            a. Enroll a new certificate with the option "Server authentication, Client Authentication"