This discussion has been locked. The information referenced herein may be inaccurate due to age, software updates, or external references.
You can no longer post new replies to this discussion. If you have a similar question you can start a new discussion in this forum.

How might I change UDT so switches' unmonitored ports are monitored?

I've been using UDT for a couple of months successfully, and I just discovered two sets of switches whose ports show "unmonitored" in UDT.

pastedImage_0.png

I'm uncertain how to change them to monitored, since I'd successfully added all my Cisco switches to UDT weeks ago.  Or is this somehow unnecessary?  No UDT information shows up in NPM's view of the Nodes.

NPM is already monitoring all of each switches' ports.

What's the trick to changing a nodes's ports to be monitored in UDT?

• I just found this tip: when I'm in "Port Management", I'm looking for the interfaces "Port is unmonitored." and I click on these interfaces, one by one.

Then I click on "monitor" in "Device Tracker Port Details"
    It's a long time ... but it works

• Settings> All Settings> UDT Settings> Manage Ports
    By choosing "Group" by "Vendor" or "Machine Type" and "Show: Ports".
    Just check the interfaces to monitor and press "MONITOR".

Very fast !

• Hmmm. 

pastedImage_0.png

It's not as nice as I'd like.  Plus, selecting All captures ports I don't want.

pastedImage_1.png

But this DOES appear to be a way to get the job done, after a lot of judicious filtering & thoughtful clicking and "not-clicking".

Thank you for the consideration.  I'm hoping for a more intuitive and graceful solution, since this one still seems rather random.

• This made me go look at my UDT install :-(

I have discovered I've a small random selection of over 450K ports are unmonitored... which explains why I was not finding things I thought I should be able to even with the lack of VRF polling.