22 Replies Latest reply on Apr 10, 2018 3:49 AM by silinc

How might I change UDT so switches' unmonitored ports are monitored?

rschroeder

I've been using UDT for a couple of months successfully, and I just discovered two sets of switches whose ports show "unmonitored" in UDT.

I'm uncertain how to change them to monitored, since I'd successfully added all my Cisco switches to UDT weeks ago.  Or is this somehow unnecessary?  No UDT information shows up in NPM's view of the Nodes.

NPM is already monitoring all of each switches' ports.

What's the trick to changing a nodes's ports to be monitored in UDT?

• Re: How might I change UDT so switches' unmonitored ports are monitored?
          flep26

I just found this tip: when I'm in "Port Management", I'm looking for the interfaces "Port is unmonitored." and I click on these interfaces, one by one.

Then I click on "monitor" in "Device Tracker Port Details"
          It's a long time ... but it works

David Smith

Hi rschroeder,

If you know which devices you want to monitor for you can use the search field in the top right to narrow down which nodes are displayed then when you select all it only selects ports that are part of that selection. Or you can use Group By and pick a Custom Property to narrow down your selection choice:

My examples are not great as I don't have many switches in my lab environment. Hope this helps? Also worth bearing in mind that when you run Auto Discovery you can instruct the system which ports you want to be included for automatic selection.

Cheers

David

1 of 1 people found this helpful
              rogdog

HOW MIGHT I CHANGE UDT SO SWITCHES' UNMONITORED PORTS ARE MONITORED?

What I have noticed is that when you first enter the Manage ports webpage (User Device Tracker Settings --> Manage Ports) the page sometimes defaults to the Node view instead of Ports view even though the 'Show' Option displays the word 'Ports' instead of 'Nodes'.