This discussion has been locked. The information referenced herein may be inaccurate due to age, software updates, or external references.
You can no longer post new replies to this discussion. If you have a similar question you can start a new discussion in this forum.

Why is this alert telling me in particular

I'm new to alerting. I'm creating a bunch of test alerts in order to help find and kill all the noise we are getting. I constantly see this alert and have no idea what the system is trying to tell me. Can someone help? This server goes from a state of warning to up all the time.

Component Pages/sec of Application "Windows Server 2003-2012 Services and Counters" on xserver is currently in a state of "Up". 

Click the link below for more information related to this component

: Can someone help?

• Most alerts also have what is called a "Reset Action"; this is probably the result of the component going back into the "Up" status, and your tools are telling you all is well again.

Couple of notes:

• I really prefer to begin the subject of my notifications with either "TRIGGER: " or "CLEAR: "; to avoid confusion.
    • You mention that this particular server goes back and forth from Warning to Up, a lto. This is what is known in monitoring as "Sawtoothing" or "Alert Flapping". There are some standard ways to approach this:
      • Find the offending component, and set a more accurate threshold for it: Adjust threshold settings and apply baseline data
      • Create "hold-down timers" for your trigger and reset conditions: Meaning, "Don't trigger/clear until the value has been sustained for XX time"
        • Quick note, you can do something very similar in your component thresholds as well!