This discussion has been locked. The information referenced herein may be inaccurate due to age, software updates, or external references.
You can no longer post new replies to this discussion. If you have a similar question you can start a new discussion in this forum.

Multiple Interface Alerting in NPM 11.5

I have not been able to find an answer to this specific question and hope that someone can help me. I am relatively new to NPM, have been given the task of cleaning up our Solarwinds and creating some specific alerts. I have been given the task of creating alerts for all instances of Port Channels. Currently we only know of port channels going down if we see a node go down and, in the course of troubleshooting, find out that the Port Channel has failed (defective SFP's, bad fiber, etc.) My manager wants to have alerts created so that we know when one of the interfaces go down.

I have port channels that consist of 2-4 interfaces; I have created an alert that will email me an alert when one of the interfaces goes down but it also sends me emails for the interfaces that are up. Does anyone know how to suppress the emails for the interfaces that are up? The only thing I know to do at this point is to create a separate alert for each interface and that seems to be really inefficient.

I have looked every place I can think of to find an answer (YouTube, here, and Google) but have come up short so far. If this has been answered somewhere and I missed it, please excuse my ignorance.....I'm losing hair and my eyes are bleeding!!!

• I believe this will work for interfaces...not aware of any reason it won't:

https://support.solarwinds.com/Success_Center/Network_Performance_Monitor_(NPM)/Alert_Group_member_status_is_down_on_specific_group

This would involve creation of a group per port channel.  How many port channels do you have?