14 Replies Latest reply on Aug 23, 2017 1:22 PM by optwpierce

SNMP credentials

optwpierce

SO, I have been using Solarwinds for a few years now.  Just started a new job and the company had Solarwinds set up but had not really updated it in the last two years.  I am working through attempting to bring the system back up to speed.

One of the things that was never done was standardizing on usernames for SNMP v3 usernames and passwords.  Even the encryption technologies are different for the same username in some cases.

My question, is there a why I can take a node that is currently monitored (Lets say by ICMP) with a lot of custom properties and just scan that against all of the saved SNMPv3 credentials without manually having to go into each node and clicking "Test" on each username?

Thanks

• Re: SNMP credentials
          d09h

Create a network sonar discovery with all nodes/ all credentials you are concerned with.

See any issues with that solution?  Any reason that wouldn't work for you?

optwpierce

I do not want to create new nodes.  They have placed a lot of information into custom properties and they use dynamic groups from that information for alerting.  So I did not want to change that information.  As long as Sonar will not change the custom properties to default, that should work.

d09h

You wouldn't have to proceed all the way through with onboarding disovered nodes.  From the discovery results, you will know which ones worked and which ones didn't.  If you know it worked on devices A, D, F, and G, then change those from ICMP monitoring to SNMPv3 using the discovery credentials.  Leave devices B,C,E and anything else that didn't get discovered by the SNMP discovery out of your list of devices to edit/ change polling method/ credentials. It is not necessary to import any of the devices discovered.  The discovery is just handling the en masse test you described (since faster than a point-click-test node-by-node).

mesverrum