10 Replies Latest reply on Jun 9, 2017 11:27 AM by stcain

Removing previous versions of Java : How TO?

mcrossland

I'm new to patch manager.   I have configured Java updates and they apply just fine.  I'm also aware that these updates do not remove previous versions of java.

How can we use patch manager to remove previous java versions after installing the latest version (update)?

Seems like there could be some sort of uninstall routine for the entire domain group that would follow successful installations of the upgrades but I don't know.

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Mike

• Re: Removing previous versions of Java : How TO?
          kellytice
          • Find a machine that has the specific version you wish to uninstall
          • In Patch Manager, select and right-click that machine, then launch Computer Explorer and go to the Installed Software tab.
          • Select the specific .MSI-based software you wish to uninstall and click "Uninstall" on the upper right.
          • On the computer selection page, the one machine will be targeted, but add other machines using the "Add machines" or "Browse Machines" options, or you can click the "Select Computers using Rules" option to scope it out to a larger group (patching group / OU / domain)
          • On the page after, you can determine to run that task now or schedule the uninstall for a certain time.

Note:  this just works for .MSI-based applications, it would not be an available option for .EXE-based apps.

stcain

I duplicate the packages that come in from SolarWinds and then modify them to uninstall the previous version of JRE 8. I can't uninstall all old versions because we have some machines that need a specific version of JRE 6 for a specific application.

Capture.JPG

Then I make this change in the Package Boot Editor.

Capture1.JPG

jasweat