8 Replies Latest reply on Jul 20, 2018 6:08 AM by uaggarwal

Need to get local Business hours reports

patriot

My SolarWinds polling engine is in the central time zone of the U.S., but I am monitoring devices all over the world. My challenge is that I need to run weekly reports covering LOCAL business hours (8AM to 6PM). In other words, a report for devices in Paris should include data from 8A to 6P in Paris, not 8A to 6P in Dallas.

How do I do that in SQL? Can it be done directly with Manage Reports?

Thank you for any guidance as I am not a SQL expert.

• Re: Need to get local Business hours reports
          Steven Klassen

Hey patriot - long time no chat!

The way I handle this is by creating a floating point node custom property with the GMT offset for each node (e.g., -7 for PDT, -5 for CDT, and -4 for EDT). Then when I create the report, I limit the rows (in SWQL or SQL) to those where the hour is >= (dateTimeField + customPropertyUTCOffsetField) if the dateTimeField is UTC already (as it is with availability). Boom, you have a timezone aware report! If you want a hand with the particulars, give me a shout and we can hop on a GoToMeeting and chat about it.

uaggarwal

can you check with the below query, if the query is getting executed directly on the database, i am able to get the output of the query, whereas if running on the application, the data is not getting fetched. :

SELECT TOP 10

CONVERT(DateTime,

LTRIM(MONTH(DateTime)) + '/01/' + LTRIM(YEAR(DateTime)),

101) AS SummaryMonth,

Nodes.Caption AS NodeName,

Interfaces.InterfaceName AS Interface_Name,

AVG(Case InBandwidth

When 0 Then 0

Else (In_Averagebps/InBandwidth) * 100

End) AS AVERAGE_of_Recv_Percent_Utilization,

AVG(Case OutBandwidth

When 0 Then 0

Else (Out_Averagebps/OutBandwidth) * 100

End) AS AVERAGE_of_Xmit_Percent_Utilization,

Nodes.Region AS Region,

InterfaceTraffic.DateTime AS DateTime,

Interfaces.InterfaceID AS InterfaceID

FROM