11 Replies Latest reply on Feb 10, 2017 2:17 PM by jkrenzien

How is the community testing their NCM scripts?

awilki01

We have NCM running on a server in our datacenter, and I want to start learning and using it for our production environment. But, as a hobbyist coder, I know that without testing code prior to deployment in a production environment is asking for trouble.

I have Cisco VIRL, but it's local and only accessible via my local machine/local VMs. We do not have CML nor do we have a lab currently.

What can the community suggest to me for script testing prior to production deployment?

Thanks in advance,

Adam

• Re: How is the community testing their NCM scripts?
          nmoore575

Our lab environment is not as large nor can it represent our production environment.  We have had success in leveraging GNS3 to better represent our production environment to work through changes prior to production deployment maintenance windows.

jxchappell

As long as you're not updating configs on your production equipment, testing these in production shouldn't be a big deal...you can limit your devices as well

yaquaholic

Just firing up a GNS3 instance to test against, as we speak.

jkrenzien

Compliance policy reports are typically fairly easy to test. The fun is testing Config Change Templates and figuring out what the variables will accurately output. To assist with that I created a Cisco Embedded Event Manager (EEM) scriptcalled echo. Then I just create a change template that runs the script followed by the variables I want to test. To run this EEM script you would use the command event manager run echo <Insert_Variable>. I am doing this for each variable I want to test. There are likely some problems with it, but I just created it this week when I got frustrated with the lack of change template variable documentation and examples.