15 Replies Latest reply on Dec 12, 2016 4:35 PM by peacekeeper

NPM - Group Questions

peacekeeper

I am new to using Solarwinds NPM, and these forums, so this might might be in the wrong place. I did do some research but did not find a definitive answer so I thought I would try here.

We are hoping to use groups in NPM as a container for nodes. For example we have 700+ sites that all have 3 or 4 switches at each site. We would like to make each site its own group, so when a user selects a group they see all the nodes (switches in this case) assigned to that site. We would like to use custom attributes for each of the groups for meta data like physical address, contact name, etc. This would mean there would be 700+ groups with custom attributes.

The trouble is I can not find a way to search for a group name once they are created. We can search for a node, but I could not find a way to get back to the group page (that lists all the other nodes for that site) from the node screen. Is there a custom search I can create to to search only for group names (Preferred)? Or maybe a way to get back to the a nodes group from the node screen? Am I missing a step?

Thank you in advance,

-Matt

• Re: NPM - Group Questions
          nathan.hejnicki

Is there a particular reason you can't use custom properties to accomplish this? Then you can group, sort, filter, alert, limit, or whatever else you'd like to do based on the value of that property. You'd just fill out a "site name" custom property and use the Node Tree to see them all (with 700 sites I'd also recommend a Region property to help group sites more easily too).

Does that point you in the right direction?

Nathan

Loop1 Systems

peacekeeper

Thank you for the reply and suggestions.