This discussion has been locked. The information referenced herein may be inaccurate due to age, software updates, or external references.
You can no longer post new replies to this discussion. If you have a similar question you can start a new discussion in this forum.

Is it Possible?

First of all, I am no programmer and do not pretend to be one.

Management is wanting my team to build "application" views.  It was proposed to use our CMDB feed to populate the custom properties with the application name.

So, my question is.  Is this something that is possible using SWIS?  What I'm thinking is, have it do an initial population and a daily update to look for any changes.

Before I go down the route of finding someone to build the integration, has anyone tried this or something similar?  If successfully building the integration, any tips / suggestions?

• Setting custom property values on nodes in Orion is simple with SWIS. I'll let the community chime in with any similar experiences.

• Doing this very soon and I've done similar in the past. What's your cmdb and is it your source of just application name pick list values or also the mapping of each node to applications?

What we did to prep for this was add a ServiceNow flat field which shows the upstream relationships (including applications) in a simple comma delimitated list. Pop that field value over to Solarwinds node custom property and build group dynamic queries for node custom property contains value (app name).

The contains allows you to match a single field to multiple dynamic queries.

Then share the group template pages with your app teams. Extra credit for building integration where cmdb app names create groups and their dynamic queries.

Thanks,

Christian

• Thank you for the info and the suggestions.

To answer your question, I'm not sure on the backend of the actual CMDB we have.  It's in CA Service Desk.  We also have a SQL feed that I know has the mapping of node to application.