This discussion has been locked. The information referenced herein may be inaccurate due to age, software updates, or external references.
You can no longer post new replies to this discussion. If you have a similar question you can start a new discussion in this forum.

NetPath Best Practices

I would appreciate anyone assistance.    Looking to implement NetPath at my location.

Trying to understand who would be my best customers. 

Network Team and Application.

Can you please tell me if there is a NetPath users guide?

I would like to know best practices in using this tool.  

Thanks

David

• Hi Lindsey,

Thanks for information.

I am new to SolarWinds.

Can you tell me what is the best practices for using this tool. How do you market NetPath? Who are your customers……Network and Application Teams?

I work for a larger firm and cannot see me create NetPath service for every allocation out in production infrastructure.

How do you use this tool…..do you get a request from a user to build NetPath service?

Appreciate your time

David

attachments.zip
  • David, I'm in Networking, and my team manages our Solarwinds suite of products.

We rely on NetPath to troubleshoot issues with WAN services, and here's an example:

Partner Site A allowed us to install a VPN appliance within their network, to facilitate installation and use of a PC owned and managed by my company, which is operated by one of our employees who visits Partner Site A.

Our employee using that computer reports that that the application stopped working properly, and the application vendor said the issue was due to high latency that they can't support.

IT Support staff at Partner Site A reported they weren't impeding the flow, and the latency they measured to the Internet is acceptably low.

My team was tasked with finding why latency statistics were reported as both too high and acceptable.  NetPath did that for us, in a graphic and complete manner.