3 Replies Latest reply on Oct 11, 2016 3:22 PM by mesverrum

Renaming configurations using a script - is it possible?

powerblade

Every night we have job running that takes a backup of the running config of all devices if there is changes during the day.

Now I'm seeking to make a script that runs after the backup job and that automatically renames each config according to some parameters I specify.

I'm very new to coding in SolarWinds (but not to coding in general!) so I'm not sure how to approach this and what the standard way of doing it is in SolarWinds. I looked in the NCM administration guide and the only things I can find about scripting is to make device specific configurations. This script is more likely to be executed on the SolarWinds server itself as it modifies the content in the local database.

What kind of script can I use to connect to the SolarWinds database to obtain a list of configurations? C#, PowerShell, VBscript or something else?

Can someone give an example of how to connect to the SolarWinds database using the configuration from the local SolarWinds installation and fetching all configurations from the last day?

• Re: Renaming configurations using a script - is it possible?
          mesverrum

In the NCM settings > Configs there is a place where you can already define the folder and naming format you want to use for saved config files.  The configs themselves are copied onto your server in a text file (.config) as they are downloaded so if you wanted to act on those files directly you can do so with any normal batch scripting method for renaming/moving/archiving.  I generally don't find a need to do that because you can typically just adjust the NCM settings to get them saved how/where you want them in the first place.