This discussion has been locked. The information referenced herein may be inaccurate due to age, software updates, or external references.
You can no longer post new replies to this discussion. If you have a similar question you can start a new discussion in this forum.

IP or Hostname or appliance key

FormerMember
FormerMember

Hello All,

I am new to Solarwinds and wanted to know how it recognize the firewall/gateway appliances. For example, there are two firewall appliances behind single public IP. They are sending syslogs to LEM which is hosted on internet. Now as LEM will receive syslogs from both the firewalls with same source IP, how it's going to differentiate and monitor both firewalls? I just want to understand whether LEM recognize Nodes/Firewalls from IP or does it also look at the appliance key/serial key/hostname from the syslog fields.

Please let me know if such scenario has been tested with LEM. If yes, please share your observations.

Thank you.

• FormerMember
    0 FormerMember

It will likely depend on how the syslog is received and the device. It's possible it will be able to differentiate them by the actual/internal IP. If you have the firewall log its IP/name in the log, it might also pick those up as the appliance names.

Generally, LEM is going to try to parse the IP/hostname of the device out of the logs. It'll pick the syslog IP by default (if you look at syslog formatted messages, there's a <date> <ip/hostname> <message> format), but some devices can also log their IP/hostname within the message, and if syslog messages get forwarded from a syslog forwarder, it'll pick those up instead.

What kind of device? Do you have it logging to LEM already, are you seeing the logs?

• FormerMember
    0 FormerMember in reply to FormerMember