3 Replies Latest reply on Apr 29, 2016 8:58 AM by jamesatloop1

Node Name

jbrannen

I am new to LEM but watched a bunch of the introductory videos, and I searched for node name issues and saw a previous post where the op was told that node names cannot be manually edited. So I am curious as to how people are actually managing their nodes since the node name cannot be edited and although I am new to LEM I have found no way to organize nodes in any organizational or hierarchical format. 

I have not found any particular way to organize or manage the nodes on the aptly named manage->nodes window.  All I see are two columns of the same IP addresses (NodeIP and Node Name). I have only added about 20 nodes so far and it has already become painful to look at and I have many more nodes to add. My company is a financial institution which does not like the idea of creating dns entries for network devices. All of our devices (well 98%) are Cisco devices so i researched and even added the logging origin-id hostname to the syslog configuration and I am still only getting the IP as the node name and not the hostname on the device, so apparently that doesn't work either.

Is there some secret or really advanced feature I will find out about later that requires the node name to be restricted in such a manner ? Or is there another way to get some useful data in the node name field ?

Thanks,

Jeff

• Re: Node Name
          jamesatloop1

You have to think latterally with LEM. The organization of lem is done by grouping alerts. It's the alerts from the node that is the emphais and you create the alerts for the nodes, hence where the grouping of the nodes. You do this through build.

jbrannen