This discussion has been locked. The information referenced herein may be inaccurate due to age, software updates, or external references.
You can no longer post new replies to this discussion. If you have a similar question you can start a new discussion in this forum.

Automating node additions e2e: including Hardware Health Sensors

Hello,

I've been working on automating the addition of nodes to Solarwinds, and I had assumed that would be a routine and well documented task.  However I have struggled to find consolidated documentation that walks through the process definitively in any way.  Usually when this happens I assume PEBCAK as a) I'm new to Solarwinds so I'm probably doing something wrong, b) I'm a SysEngineer and not a networking guy so much is unfamiliar, and c) sometimes I don't know the right questions to ask.  So if this question is malformed or otherwise ignorant I apologize, but I need some help.

I have gotten relatively far using the examples from PowerOrion and from this forum.  Currently I can get a node added, set properties both standard and custom, configure interfaces, and add pollers (enabling things like Routing, CPU&Memory, VLAN, Topology, etc. monitoring).

However I am stuck at that last tick box of enabling Hardware Health Sensors.  I have found this conversation Adding Hardware Health Details , in which tdanner posted on 7/7/15:

It is still not possible to add just the hardware health polling, but you can use the discovery API to add everything for a node, including hardware health. See this post for details: Re: Re: How do we programmatically discover the non-interface properties [in Orion] and enable them"