cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Create Post
Level 8

Solarwinds Application Monitor - Groups

Hello All,

I am new to Solarwinds.  I have managed to figure out through the training videos, quite a few things about this application.  There is one thing I can't wrap my mind around and there are no videos explaining this function.  The topic I am talking about is "Groups".  I understand that groups are a collection of monitored nodes.  What I don't understand is the benefit behind groups.  What are some different scenarios in where someone would use groups.  On my job, I am the Solarwinds admin (scary).  I have a request to create a group consisting of one server.  I was even given the name of the group.  I was able to create the group and add the requested server.  The other part of the request was to add a user to this group.  Is that possible?  I guess if I fully understood the concept of groups, I would be able to fulfill this request.  Can anyone help me?

Tags (1)
0 Kudos
4 Replies
Level 12

Hello!

Groups are commonly used in creating dependencies, which is another feature in Orion. Very often you have a group of devices sitting behind one gateway, or the parent, and you'd want to avoid receiving multiple alerts when SolarWinds loses connectivity to all these devices everytime the parent goes down. So a dependency is created, where alerts for the child group behind the parent are suppressed, because it is understood that they are only down, or "unreachable" as SolarWinds provides as a status, because the parent is down. (Create a dependency between network objects - SolarWinds Worldwide, LLC. Help and Support )