This discussion has been locked. The information referenced herein may be inaccurate due to age, software updates, or external references.
You can no longer post new replies to this discussion. If you have a similar question you can start a new discussion in this forum.

Trigger Action Logic Help

Hey All,

I am somewhat new to Solarwinds and need a little help setting up one particular alert.

I have created two component monitors. One that measures the amount of Windows TCP segments re-transmitted and the other is the total TCP segments sent per second.

What I would like to do is set up an alert that says if the value of re-transmitted segments divided by the value of total segments sent exceeds .06 then an alert email needs to be sent.

Is there a way to do this with alert trigger logic?

• severen.salvesen​ depending upon how you created those two components the answer will vary. What did you use to create them?

• Thanks for the answer! I did it using the component monitor wizard. Right now what I am trying to do is create a swql query to divide the component statistic results from one component by the other. Do you think this would be the best method?

• Most likely you're going to be doing a custom SQL/SWQL alert.

tomiannelli has a pertinent question, could suggest some basic query if we know how you've set up the monitoring.

• Thanks! I have been trying to do a swql query myself and this is as far as I have gotten:

SELECT ComponentStatisticData, ComponentName, NodeName

FROM Orion.APM.CurrentStatistics

INNER JOIN Orion.Nodes

ON CurrentStatistics.NodeID = Nodes.NodeID

WHERE ComponentName = 'Segments Retransmitted/sec'

and

SELECT ComponentStatisticData, ComponentName, NodeName

FROM Orion.APM.CurrentStatistics

INNER JOIN Orion.Nodes

ON CurrentStatistics.NodeID = Nodes.NodeID

WHERE ComponentName = 'Segments Sent/sec'