This discussion has been locked. The information referenced herein may be inaccurate due to age, software updates, or external references.
You can no longer post new replies to this discussion. If you have a similar question you can start a new discussion in this forum.

Questions about Alerts

I'm pretty new to Solarwinds Orion.  I have the SAM and NPM modules and we are trying to get alerting setup.  Our needs a pretty simple, just tell us when a server or network device is down or has a problem and email us.  I am aware of the concepts of alerting as I've used other monitoring software, but Orion monitoring has me confused.  I have a few questions.

1. When setting up a new node in SAM, you can specify thresholds for CPU, RAM, response time and packet loss.  Are these supposed to generate alerts when the threshold is reached?  How are these related to alerting if at all?
  2. I have site groups that I've set up.  I setup each site group to depend on a router for that site.  We recently had an outage of a router (power issue) and I got alerts for every object being monitored at that site, including ping latency, and ping loss.  Am I missing something here, or was the group supposed to not alert if the main dependency went down?  I double-checked and it seems to be setup correctly.
  3. I haven't changed any of the default alerts, but I am getting a lot of generic alerts for things.  For example, I see a few "Node is is warning or critical state", but I have no idea what that is as there is no information in the Alerts page.  This isn't very useful at as it doesn't provide any information, especially for an email notification.  Is there anything I can do about this?