cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Create Post
Level 7

Powershell Script and decision structure

Im monitoring a web service with powershell.

My webservice returns "ON" or "OFF" if a Hardware Controller device is Online or not.

My statistic is the time the script takes to find the controller (if ON) and it should have status DOWN on Orion when the web service returns OFF.

Im new to powershell, my script calls the web service, get the status back and present the statistic,, but I cannot get it to exit properly.

My script is:

=======================================

$control = New-WebServiceProxy -uri "https://test-company.net/webservice/Controller?wsdl" -Namespace ns1 -Class class1;

$sw = [Diagnostics.Stopwatch]::StartNew();

$status = $control.getMachineX('test-company.net', 'Passwd1','1').controlResponse.status;

$sw.Stop();

[decimal]$elapsed = [Math]::Round(($sw.Elapsed.TotalSeconds), 3);

Write-Host 'Statistic.Elapsed: ' $elapsed;

[bool]$state = $false;

if ($status -eq 'ON') {

$state = $true;

}

else {$state = $false};

Write-Host $state;

if ($state -eq $true) {

write-host IS TRUE;

Exit 0

}

else {Write-Host IS FALSE;

Exit 1

};

=======================================

The problem is the last 7 lines.

I dont know how to convert the status (ON or OFF) to boolean, and then make the script exit with (0) or (1) depending of the boolean (true or false)

My question boils to:

- How can I make the script exit (0) or exit (1) depending on the value returned from a boolean variable.?

Thanks guys!!

Dotty

0 Kudos
7 Replies
Product Manager
Product Manager

I recommend taking a look at the Exchange 2010 Database Availability Group template. It contains examples of how to convert string values to Boolean using PowerShell.

0 Kudos

I did,, but I didndt understand,, I was wondering if I could get specific help for a specific problem without having to read the whole lot of examples.

(many of them not on Powershell)