This discussion has been locked. The information referenced herein may be inaccurate due to age, software updates, or external references.
You can no longer post new replies to this discussion. If you have a similar question you can start a new discussion in this forum.

New to APM - What type of things can you monitor?

Hi,

I am new to APM and am trying to figure out how to configure it to work for us. What we are trying to do is monitor our custom application for errors. Our application outputs everything to a log file. We were having issues doing this with APM so we tried to use APM to monitor the event viewer.

What we have found out is APM can report up and down messages, but that is it.

Is there a way to get more details in the alert emails? Like what the error is?

If this is not possible then is it possible to have an alert trigger a custom report to be emailed that will show this information? I am just throwing around some ideas since I am not as familiar with the product yet.

Also is there maybe some custom packages that could be installed into Orion that would do what we are wanting?

Thanks in advanced,

-Adam

• Along with log files, are the error messages for this custom application also stored in a backend database? If so, you might be able to create an application template with an SQL Server User Experience Monitor and create an alert that triggers based on the result.

As you referenced, you can definitely have a custom report e-mailed as an alert action. As long as you make the report available online to the DirectLink account, you'd simply use the E-mail a Web Page action to accomplish this.

Hopefully, one of these suggestions are an option for you. Good luck!

• The logs are not stored in a databases. Thank you for the response.

One more question, how can you montitor that a program is running? Is WMI the best way to do this?

• Hello ajdurr,