This discussion has been locked. The information referenced herein may be inaccurate due to age, software updates, or external references.
You can no longer post new replies to this discussion. If you have a similar question you can start a new discussion in this forum.

How do I run PowerShell scripts (in .ps1 format) on remote machines?

Hey everyone,

I'm quite new to Orion and am trying to figure out how to run PowerShell scripts (as in ps1 files) on my monitored systems. It looks like the SAM component needs several manual steps (create a template, configure its credentials, copy a script into a text field, and a bunch of other manual UI stuff based on the 18-step process at Windows PowerShell Monitor ).

But I don't want to do any of that - I want to have the agent run scripts that exist as files and can therefore have their contents centrally controlled via git or perforce, and track the metrics they report. Just manually copying code excerpts into a field is far too manual for 2020.

I could have the "script" in the powershell monitor just call another script by name, but I would sure like to know if there's a less-kludgy way to do what I want.

Any advice?

• I've definitely done what you describe of just having my SAM monitors call local files.  As you said its kludgy but does the job.  The usual problem I run into here is that server admins write scripts for the purposes of things they need done, and almost never care to think about the format requirements I have in order for SW to interpret the results of their scripts or to collect monitoring-centric metrics in their scripts.