cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
sreenu2foru
Level 8

How can I send an email alert when a specific word is logged into a logfile

Hello All,

I am new to this SolarWinds APM... We are facing a typical problem... I am trying to search for a sentence in the log file and if that sentence is found, I am trying to send out an alert stating the sentence is found in the log file... Typically, a batch file executes in Application server at Midnight and that batch file creates a log in the log file related to it... Now, When I try to create a Log Parser to look for the log that is created by the batch file, then click on edit script and click on Get Script Output, I get an error that file not found... After that error is resolved, I tried to get the Script Output again and I get to see "==============================================Message: Can't find "regex" argument. Check documentation." error...

I either get File not found OR regex argument error...

Hope I am clear enough!

Any help would be appreciated...

Thanks!

Srini

Edited:

I am now observing a small problem... When I remove the search string (I think I spelled it correct, I mean the arguments we place after ^), I am observing the regex error... If I place the search string, I am observing an error as "File not found"...

Any correct way to place the script arguments? I entered it as \\10.1.1.14\test\logs\text.log,^Error

Let me know if I should be replacing it in other way..

Thanks!

Tags (2)
0 Kudos
12 Replies
Highlighted
HerrDoktor
Level 14

Re: How can I send an email alert when a specific word is logged into a logfile

Maybe aLTeReGo​ s Script here might help you Log Parser (PowerShell)

Cheers,

Holger

0 Kudos
sreenu2foru
Level 8

Thanks HerrDoktor... But, it did not solve my issue... Everything in that script was already done by me... But, No help!

0 Kudos
mikegale
Level 12

I put a quick powershell together that should do what you need.