cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Create Post
Level 8

Best way to monitor many different KPIs

Hi,

said in advance, I am not that experienced with orion / sam / solarwinds but I try my best to adapt and learn everything 😄

So, I need to monitor a (more or less) dynamic list with KPIs.

Value1: 0
Value2: 0
Value100: 1

I want to monitor them all.

So I am not able to do this as a application template, because this method is limited to 10 entries.

Those KPIs are Counts and I want to get alerts when those counts are going crazy (more than X)

At some point, this list could add and remove entries.

Since it might be important, this list of KPIs is provided by an c# program I wrote, so I can provide any output format I need.

As I said, I already tried to do this as an powershell component call, but this is limited to 10 entries.

Any suggestions?

0 Kudos
6 Replies
Level 10

@darkboft Is the data available by REST API by any chance?

If so you can use new API Poller feature, you can monitor more than 10 values there.

hi @jan.rachwalik 

this looks like a great new feature, good our admins did update our instance this week.
 Indeed, I try to monitor values from a API so I might be able to do so with this new API Poller feature.
 But I'm not quite sure of the solution yet. As I try to understand it by myself and also with the documentation (https://documentation.solarwinds.com/en/Success_Center/SAM/Content/SAM-API-Poller-How-It-Works.htm)  I miss the option to monitor all values of the array. 

I've get a root-element with 340 Items (this is a dynamic result, there can be more, there can be less results) So all I want is to monitor one key-value-pair or just one value of each result within the root array.

0 Kudos