This discussion has been locked. The information referenced herein may be inaccurate due to age, software updates, or external references.
You can no longer post new replies to this discussion. If you have a similar question you can start a new discussion in this forum.

Anyone know of a quick way to find SAM components to trim to get under license cap?

I'm a new SW admin for our company; the previous departed quite some time ago, so there are TONS of things (including *way* too many highly important production servers!) that were never monitored.

I performed what I feel was very conservative autodiscovery - knowing full well there would be a lots of stuff to trim.

But, I never expected it to be THIS (below) bad!  I will definitely go after more licenses, but it won't happen for months, perhaps next calendar year.  Anyone have any advice?

The number of available licenses for SAM Components is low.

Maximum licenses allowed for SAM Components: 700.
Licenses currently in use: 2714.
Licenses currently available: 0.

• Go to Settings > SAM Settings > Manage Application Monitors. Either delete the templates you don't need OR edit the application monitor and remove the component monitors you don't need for now

• on a side note: My rule of thumb is calculate 20 components per server when you don't want to think about trimming your templates. with your SAM700 you would have approximately 35-40 servers "hassle-free"

• A lot of the templates provide relatively more 'robust' monitoring than you absolutely need if you are license constrained.  As an example, for internal websites or things that aren't under active development the appinsight for IIS template is 30 licenses and gives way more metrics than most monitoring teams really need. Swap those out for a simple http(s) monitor of the url for 1 license.