This discussion has been locked. The information referenced herein may be inaccurate due to age, software updates, or external references.
You can no longer post new replies to this discussion. If you have a similar question you can start a new discussion in this forum.

Alert on an Application Monitor Template

Newbie here...

I've created a SQL-based Application Monitor Template.  It has a Component Monitor of type SQL Server User Experience Monitor. Within the Component Monitor I have a SQL Query which returns a value. This value is evaluated in the Statistics Threshold and set to Warning at X and  Critical at X+4000.

I'm lost at how to email alerts on these Statistic Threshold evaluations.  Can someone point me in the right direction?

Thx.

• You are wanting to Alert when that "component" goes into a warning or critical state.  The built-in blanket Alerts for SAM are:

Alert me when a component goes down

Alert me when a component goes into a warning or critical state

There are two other ones

Alert me when an application  goes down

Alert me when an application goes into a warning or critical state.

I would recommend that you do not turn on the Application alerts as the application status is nothing more than a roll up status of the components included in the application.  What we really care about are the components that are acting up, and if you have both the application and component alerts turned on, it will produce duplicate Alerts, and thus extra noise.

Copy and modify the "Alert me when a component goes into a warning or critical state" alert, and edit the email trigger action to send to the email address(es) you want.  Remember that this is a blanket alert that will trigger on ANY SAM component that goes into a warning or critical state.  To include or exclude applications from triggering this alert, you'd modify the Trigger Condition scope.