This discussion has been locked. The information referenced herein may be inaccurate due to age, software updates, or external references.
You can no longer post new replies to this discussion. If you have a similar question you can start a new discussion in this forum.

APC UPS Alerting

Hello all!  I am a relative newbie to Solarwinds and have been tasked with replacing our aging Ipswitch WhatsUp monitoring platform.  Currently, I am working on alerting for my APC UPS devices.  If I am correct, I can poll OID 1.3.6.1.4.1.318.1.1.1.4.1.1 for pretty much all the information I need and I can see the status correctly.  Knowing little about SQL, how do I show the status of the particular poller in an e-mail or SMS alert?  Are there any templates for APC alerting out there?  I have been unable to find any as of yet.

Thank you in advance!

• Provided you have NPM you can use the Universal Device Pollers I've created and posted here ->

You can then use the Advanced Alert Manager macros to pass any information about the UnDP as part of the Alert.

UnDP Macros.png

• I was going down that path actually, but I stink at the SQL variables.  I will keep digging in, thanks.

• If those universal device pollers don't meet your needs you should be able to dig into the MIBs and pull whatever data you want to build a custom poller.  I use a combination of APC pollers and the universal pollers from AlterEgo's link.  Here is a screenshot with some of the values we get, the battery time remaining on all the APC units in a table form is down near the bottom (not displayed)

Capture2.JPG

• I'm pulling the data I would like to alert on.  I am trying to build out an alert which will page me when the status of the UPS changes and what the current status is. So when the APC_UPS_Status changes from OnLine to say, OnBattery, I will get that information in an SMS and E-mail.

pastedImage_0.png

Here is my trigger:

Status is equal to UPS

Poller Name is equal to APC_UPS_Status