This discussion has been locked. The information referenced herein may be inaccurate due to age, software updates, or external references.
You can no longer post new replies to this discussion. If you have a similar question you can start a new discussion in this forum.

Latest version of NTA is incompatible with security policy in our environment due to NO SQL DB requirement

I am a contractor working with the military and recently went to start the process for upgrading our SolarWinds products.  We ran into a real conundrum when we found out that NTA is now using a NO SQL database.  There is no way this is going to be allowed in our environment.  It is putting my team in the position of having to reconsider whether to continue with SW or look for another solution that will mesh with the security requirements of our environment going down the road.  What was the reasoning behind the change in DB for NTA?  Is this the way it is going to be going forward?

• We ran into a real conundrum when we found out that NTA is now using a NO SQL database.

Very important to note that the new datastore for NTA is an optional datastore. If your security requirements require this data to be stored in SQL Server, you can continue to do that!

However, I'd be quite curious as to what the perceived security differential is between Microsoft SQL Server and any other datastore, particularly if it's hosted on a dedicated server with appropriate security restrictions.

What was the reasoning behind the change in DB for NTA?