This discussion has been locked. The information referenced herein may be inaccurate due to age, software updates, or external references.
You can no longer post new replies to this discussion. If you have a similar question you can start a new discussion in this forum.

Can Netflow Analyzer .record individual end user DSL port activity on an Adtran TA5004 DSLAM?

Can Netflow Analyzer be used to monitor and record individual end user DSL port activity on an Adtran TA5004 DSLAM?

Is there another way to do it using native Adtran capabilities?

Question Background:

I am not a network engineer but a DSL customer trying to get my ISP to properly fix my line.  I live at the end of the servicable range of an Adtran TA5004 owned by Zipply, previously Frontier, previously Verizon.  The wires to my house run in a 25 pair bundle and are in bad repair, much of the bundle runs through the woods where techs are not anxious to haul ladders to check splice boxes.  Over the years there have been many splices.

By observing traffic patterns via my modems statistics collections, I see that for periods of time (when my DSL is delivering a very acceptable 3 MB/sec) my CRC error rate is extreemly low.  However, during intermittent times during the day, and at night during the time people are streaming media, my CRC rate goes through the roof, and my downlink speed is reduced to sub 100K numbers.  Its very clear to me that there is another user whose lines are cross-coupled to mine.  The techs who have looked into it claim that their TDR can not detect a cross connection, so either the lines are electro-magneticly coupled (as opposed to physicaly coupled) or they are blowing smoke – the behaviour (single digit CRC errors in 15 minute logging periods, OR tens of thousands of CRC errors in 15 minute logging periods, happening for discrete time periods, especially between 7 and 10 PM) paint a pretty convincing picture of interference.