Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Create Post
Level 7

increase respond time when a node down

Jump to solution

Hi all,

I'm a newbie and I have some problems, please help me! Thanks in advance!

I want to increase respond time when a node goes down. For example as soon as it goes down, the monitor event will notify me

I've changed the ICMP timeout downto 200ms but the fastes time when monitor event detect a node goes down is about 1-2 minutes 😞

Please help me!

Tags (1)
0 Kudos
1 Solution

Hi,

You might want to increase the Node Warning Interval to something higher than 2 minutes:

In System Manager:

File > Advanced Settings...

Select the "Node Warning Interval".

Change the settings and click on Ok.

HTH,

Yann

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
5 Replies
Level 10

Changing the ICMP timeout will not do this.  What you want to do is change the Polling interval for icmp.  This can be done on a device by device basis or globally through System manager.  To do it for an individual node you would open system manager and right click on the node selecting node details.  To do it globally you will want to open system manager Select File->Network Performance Monitor Settings and select the Polling tab.  From there change the Default Poll Interval for Nodes and apply those settings to all.  One thing to keep in mind is that as you poll more frequently, the max number of elements you can poll on a single polling engine will decrease.

Hi ceiqe,

Thanks for your reply. I've done all things you said before, but the problem is still exist, I means I do before your post :D,  so do you have any other solutions? Thank you!

0 Kudos

Hi,

You might want to increase the Node Warning Interval to something higher than 2 minutes:

In System Manager:

File > Advanced Settings...

Select the "Node Warning Interval".

Change the settings and click on Ok.

HTH,

Yann

View solution in original post

0 Kudos

Hi all,