This discussion has been locked. The information referenced herein may be inaccurate due to age, software updates, or external references.
You can no longer post new replies to this discussion. If you have a similar question you can start a new discussion in this forum.

getting trouble while adding stack switch in NPM

Hello everyone,

I'm new to Solarwinds can someone help me to add stack switch in solarwinds.

Scenario:

We have new office in which we need to add mutiple switches, for example

Switch1- IP: 10.10.10.1

Switch1: (stack switch)

Switch2 - IP: 10.10.20.2

Switch2 - (Stack switch)

As per above scenario we need to add two switch having same name with single ip address (which is stack switch), need help on this to add into solarwinds.

Thanks in advance.

• What brand of switches?   Most Cisco switch stacks it handles on its own, but it doesn't handle each switch separately - but as a stack.  Even has a tab that shows the switch and power stacking configuration on the boxes in a stack.   

I believe most brands of switches are managed via a single IP for the stack.  I would think even if Orion didn't handle other brands stacks as elegantly as they have the 3850's, that they would at least reveal all the interfaces via SNMP.

• Stack switches are added into Solarwinds as a single device. Solarwinds should detect that it's a stack switch and add in the extra left hand view as seen in this image.

superfly99_0-1583376314990.png

This article gives you all the info.

https://documentation.solarwinds.com/en/Success_Center/NPM/Content/NPM-Monitor-Cisco-Switch-Stacks.htm

• The previous answers are correct. Once you add the node, Orion will see the stack and (as long as you are running NPM 12.0 or above) you will be able to view the stack when you select the node. You will see things like the switch numbers, priority levels, stack ring, etc. I would add that you need to ensure that you have the stack enabled in "Manage Pollers".